Rock my equilibrium

parent

With the children off to school I have a moment to myself sat at the kitchen table surrounded by their mess

Tears aren’t far away, it’s another of those days, feeling down and quite dismayed by the burdens that I face

Life goes rushing by, I only stand and see imitated copies of what I’m supposed to be

My mirror mocks me so, confirms what I believe of Hollywood items shown in my weekly magazine

Then on the radio I hear the celebrity speaker say: I’ve never had, you see, children of my own,

cleaned and fed them, wept over them and sent them off to school, never heard them clatter back again

to balance my equilibrium.

And it does.

*

Dennis Crompton © 1996

2 comments

  1. belllettres · · Reply

    I love this poem. You write so beautifully, with sensitivity and tenderness.

  2. Thank you, Bellletres. I used to listen to the radio quite a lot when I was younger which added all kinds of emotional situations that affected ordinary people each day. For some reason, my mind would think of ways to bring balance to some of them and wished I could have
    met this particular celebrity.
    Dennis Crompton

Leave a comment